Introducing our new chinchilla

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ArmyWife

Yesterday my fiance and I were able to rescue a female chinchilla from their owner. We currently have a 7 month old male (was told it was a female) chinchilla named McKinley. He's a very friendly but has his tendoncies to run away when being picked up. The new chinchilla, we named her Jade, is said to be a 3 month old from Petsmart. She's actually bigger than McKinley so I'm thinking petsmart had no idea what they were talking about OR she's just a big baby lol. Is there any way to really know how old she is? She's VERY friendly and loves to run around.

Right now I have them in separate cages side by side with about 6 inches apart. Should I have them farther apart from each other? I'm still new to owning my first chinchilla but have done a TON of research and want to breed my chinchillas one day and become a breeder. I am definitely not going to put the two of them together yet since Jade is so young. How old should chinchillas be before introducing them to each other? I've done a lot of research about introducing new chinchillas and feel that the cage to cage introduction is the best and most humane way of introducing them. Is it ok to allow them to play together as long as I watch them the whole time and stop any fighting?