Type of water

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pitbullgirl

I read that you could give Chinchillas Purified water. Iv been giving mine purified water. At first i was going to giver her distilled cus i read u could give them that but then researched more and found not to. Is purified the same thing? Should i change the water? if so what to?

Purified and distilled are not the same. I prefer reverse osmosis rather than either of those two.

I've been using tap filtered with a Brita for my chin for the past 5 years with no problems.

Last I checked, Brita didn't filter out microbial cysts, so unless they've upgraded their filters I wouldn't recommend it. I use a PUR3 on the tap and with four chins, I only have to change it every 3-4 months. You can also buy bottled water as long as it says that it's filtered by reverse osmosis on the bottle.

I'm completely confused about the water thing. So bottled water isn't ok unless it's filtered the right way? Shouldn't anything we drink be good enough for them to drink? I've been using Poland Springs water, but now I wonder if it's not good enough... but I drink tons of it myself... and what do wild chinchillas drink? I want to do the right thing, but man, is this confusing.

I'm completely confused about the water thing. So bottled water isn't ok unless it's filtered the right way? Shouldn't anything we drink be good enough for them to drink? I've been using Poland Springs water, but now I wonder if it's not good enough... but I drink tons of it myself... and what do wild chinchillas drink? I want to do the right thing, but man, is this confusing.

Our chinchillas are not wild. It is not a viable comparison.