Ranch names vs non-ranch names

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Snickers

I have been showing my babies for the last 3 years and I don't have a ranch name. Their parents are from Bowen and Shoots, Bowen and Chincolores, or all Shoots lines. They have been doing pretty well considering they are my pets first. They will have pedigrees as soon as I it on paper.

I had a GSC for mutation, reserves for cc, 1st, 2nds, 4th at 2 mths, & 2 that didn't place which were accidental breeding.

Now, if I decided to sell them would you buy from a rancher with a name only vs a non-rancher without a name?

I don't care what name is on the paper. I care what the animal looks like. So for me, I could care less if it has a ranch name on it.

Snickers,

Your post makes no sense. You list a lot of names and a lot of places, but I don't think that's what you want to know.

If you are looking to sell your animals, and you don't have a brand name ( it only costs $5!), then make something up. Use your last name or something. On the pedigree, people need to know that the animals were bred by you. In the background (dam, sire, etc.) you keep the original breeder's name.

Ah, maybe Becky read that differently than I did. I thought you meant because you personally don't have a ranch brand.

Becky - Isn't it only $5.00 if you pay the yearly membership to join either MCBA or ECBC? You don't get the keep the ranch brand if you don't stay a paying member, do you? I was taking what she said as asking if people would buy from her if she didn't have a registered ranch brand. I don't care if her brand is registered. She would still be providing a pedigree.

Yes, you have to belong to one or the other. You supposedly lose it if you don't keep your membership, but I've never heard of that happening. It would really make things confusing!