Moving: Transportation and Shopping For a New Cage?

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zombiezeatbrain

Philosophically inclined?
Hi all--

I'm going to be moving from Southern California up to Southern Oregon this summer. It's my first year out of the dorms and I've got a lease that allows me to bring my chinchilla. That being said, I'm going to be driving all of my stuff up there with assistance from my parents. It's about a 910 mile trip, and my GPS says it should take around 14 hours or so if we drive there in one straight shot. We're going to be taking two cars when I move: my car (which is a really old jeep with broken AC and little-to-no-trunk space) just so I can have it up in Oregon with me, and my parents' car (large SUV with working AC, etc.) to fit all of my stuff into.

My concern is moving my chin, Nietzsche. I've got one of those handy little carry cages (which I cannot recall the name of for the life of me, so here is a photo of it):
350je4i.jpg

Anyway, Nietzsche gets really stressed about car rides. Even going to the vet (which is no more than a 15 minute drive, really). And because my car has no AC, my mom agreed to hold the carrier on her lap in the air conditioned vehicle that my dad is going to be driving on the way up.

Does anybody know of any tips/tricks to keep your chins calm when it comes to transportation? Whenever he's in his carrier in the car, he is very stoic and doesn't move much; but I know this is probably because he's so stressed. I just don't want him to have a heart attack or something.