Kissing my chins?--Silly question.

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hkkjstwcl

Hi, I am new to chinchilla. They are just too cute that I can't help kissing them, like their back, tummy, tip of ears, cheeks, head, and sometimes their nose/mouth area. I kind of nibble their fur, but when I kiss their nose/mouth, they are really light kisses of a split second.
My BF told me to stop. I thought that he was concerning my catching something from my chins. But, actually he was concerning my chinchillas' possibly getting something from me! Since humans eat different kinds of stuff, we have different bacteria that chins don't have. That's the reason that he gave me.
What do you think?
Ladies and gentlemen, if I have been doing something bad to my chins unknowingly, please don't get mad at me. I just love my babies, and if kissing them is bad, I will immediately stop!:kiss:

Yeah, I would maybe ease up on the kissing. I love my chinnies, too, but they get frightened when I try to scritch their backs or bellies. They are prey animals and they don't really like being touched on spots where a predator might grab them or kill them. It's just a natural instinct for them. My girls LOVE head, neck, chest scritches and will 'smile' and turn so I get all the good spots. When I go lower on their bodies, they get scared, kack and run away. Most chins don't like to be handled so much. I would stick to the the 'finger scritches'.

Well, you definitely shouldn't if you get cold sores. Chins can catch herpes from humans and it can be deadly to them.