How I bonded with my Chins

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Burnt Offering

I have seen a lot of questions here about how to bond with your Chin. I am a somewhat newbie to the Chin world. I inherited my daughters Chin when she moved out of state. It wasn't long after that I got another one and am just having a blast with them. My disclaimer. I am no authority on the subject, and I don't know much compared to a lot of you who have worked with Chins for years but my strategy has seemed to work very well for me.

To get my chins used to me I would simply walk by their cage and talk to them, and occasionally give them a cheerio from a ziplock bag. I would rattle the bag before I gave them the cheerio. This helped them recognize the sound of a treat. Before long they would come to the edge of the cage and let me pet them and this is whether I gave them a cheerio or not, or at the very least they would come to the edge of the cage and be excited to see me. Yes I know its bribery. :) But this went a LONG ways towards getting them used to me and built their trust.

This video shows the progress I have made with BeBe one of my two female Chins. Now what I do is let them out for playtime. I sit down and simply rattle the ziplock bag with the cheerios in it and they can be hiding under something clear on the other side of the room. They will come at a full run to get on my lap. I let them help themselves to a few cheerios and they will let me pet them a lot while they are snacking. This is repeated several time while they are out in the span of an hour or so. One last thing I think is of worthy mention. I don't even try to pick up my Chins unless I HAVE to. Neither one of mine like it and will try to go in 48 directions if I try so I am happy to just have them on my lap and be able to pet them.