Help! I'm new to this!

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

L_frady

I have a male chinchilla, who is around 10 months old. I got him around a month and a half ago. He's my first chinchilla so any advice is helpful I've researched on the internet and in books but not be so successful. He has been barking every night, high pitched, more like a squeal at night, it's so loud and in distress sounding he sounds like he's hurt, but he's always fine, and he also cries during the day at any given time I'm his cage and even in playtime when I'm with him. He gets out for playtime twice a day for an hour or so each. I renewed he's cage with more ledges and tubes cause I thought maybe he could be bored but it's not helping. I also got him a snuggle buddy but it only helped for a few nights. He also has started which sounds like he sneezes then honks? Is this normal? For all I can tell he's eating, drinking, pooping and playing normally so I don't think he's sick. Has anyone else had these problems?*

I know that my two chinchillas bark whenever they hear anything odd that freaks them out a little, and it sounds like a toy horn honking. They also bark in their sleep sometimes, but what you're describing sounds a lot more frequent than I have experienced. Hopefully someone with a bit more experience with that will chime in. It's definitely a good sign that he is eating and drinking and being active though :)

Thank you for commenting :) I've heard him do the sound that sounds like the toy horn but this he's been doing recently is different it's more of like a kid screaming/crying/ the toy horn lol and he does it daily and nightly. that's the best I can explain it, kinda hard to explain it's really weird. Yes he seems fine and healthy for all I can tell so that's a good thing. :)